Scott Gamboe, author

The Piaras Legacy

Email Scott



Map:

Long ago, so the legends say, the Necromancer Volnor invaded the continent of Pelacia. His legions of undead soldiers ravaged the land unchecked, until the three nations united and pushed their evil foes back into the Desert of Malator.

But that was centuries ago, and few people still believe the tale. Other, more worldly matters occupy their time, such as recent attacks by renegade Kobolds. But Elac, an Elf who makes his way as a merchant, is too concerned with his business affairs to become involved in international politics. Until a marauding band of Kobolds attack Elac's caravan and he finds himself running for his life.

Befriended by an Elven warrior named Rilen, he travels to Unity, the seat of power on the Pelacian continent. There he is joined by a diverse group of companions, and he sets out on an epic quest to solve the riddle of his heritage and save the land from the growing evil that threatens to engulf it.


The Piaras Legacy is my second novel. It's a bit of an experiment, since I wanted to try my hand at medieval fantasy. The book has it all: mystery, intrigue, kidnappings, magic, and multiple enemies. What sets this one apart is the inclusion of the undead. There haven't been too many books involving legions of skeletons and zombies. I'm not sure if that's because there's no market for it, in which case I'm wasting my time, or if I've found an untapped resource. So here is the timeline for this work:

Late 2002: Work begins on the background
Summer 2004: With the background finished (filling 3 1/2 legal pads!), work on the novel itself begins
November 2004: The book is put on hold when Medallion Press shows interest in The Killing Frost
November 2005: Work resumes, with occasional stoppages to work on Frost
February 28, 2006: Currently in chapter 11, with 7 more chapters planned (then the real work begins...rewrite, rewrite, rewrite!)
May 5,2006: The first run-through of the book is finished (ooops! 22 chapters!), revisions have begun
July, 2006: Legacy is under submission, work starts on the sequel to Frost
October, 2006: The Piaras Legacy is official, as the contracts are signed!
Released in April, 2008, in Trade Paperback!




Reviews:
5 / 5 stars
"This is an exhilarating fantasy due to the two elves, Rilen and Elac, and the threat of Volnor, deftly handled to increase the suspense. Rilen is like a Jeremiah ignored by the leaders who scoff at the return of a mythological necromancer. However Elac is the more fascinating character as he is a successful businessman who suddenly is thrust at the head of a save the world quest in a sort of coming of age way."
~Harriet Klausner

"THE PIARAS LEGACY has everything a fan of true epic fantasy could want--a daring hero, villains to freeze the blood, a quest that will determine the fate of the world. The only thing lacking is...more! Give us more!"
~ Robert Vardeman

"The Piaras Legacy is a basic sword and sorcery type of fantasy, with a few extra additives.  Sure, it has the typical elves, dwarfs and wizards one would expect, but this author tosses zombies, ghosts, vampires, and even a little romance into the mix...Having spent years reading Martin, Eddings and Jordan, I'd like to add that I appreciate very much the author's ability to tell an entire story in a single volume."
~Michael, Publishers Weekly blog

"Interesting characters and a fast moving plot make this a good choice for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien or Terry Brooks."
~Wordpress.com

Gamboe's style (particularly his fluid and descriptive prose) elevates the novel beyond the mundane. The author knows how to engage the reader in exciting battle scenes (the showdown at vampire lord Noran's castle is a particularly gripping sequence) and they play out with a great sense of the visual. Three of the major characters are the most cogently drawn and show a developed dimension. Elac the elf is fun to follow as he goes from a simple merchant to adopting and devloping his skills in sword play, survival and even love. Rilen the warrior and Jayrne (a thief and Elac's love interest) keep the reader engaged."
Garavn Giltinan, The Harrow
Website Builder